Skip to main content
DistrictCampusDirectory
CAMPUS

35th Street construction begins March 9


Posted Date: 02/05/2020

35th Street construction begins March 9

Construction along 35th Street near the entrance to Chanute’s Industrial Park will cause the road to be closed to traffic for about three weeks in March.

The roadwork will primarily affect students and staff who use 35th Street to reach Chanute High School from the east, as well as local residents who use 35th street from South Santa Fe to attend high school activities or who are trying to reach U.S. 169 highway.

City Manager Jeff Cantrell said that G&B Construction is to complete this culvert project between the revised dates of March 9 – 30. Within this time frame there will be a 7-10 day construction phase where the road will be closed to traffic. When construction is finished, the road will reopen, with possible lane restrictions, while the company finishes concrete work.

The culvert construction site is 100 feet west of the intersection of 35th Street with Johnson Road.

Students and staff should plan to use an alternate route to get to CHS. That could be via Plummer from the north, or 49th Street west to Plummer from the south, or from 169 highway. The construction will not affect any bus arrival or departure times.

Students, parents and staff should allow extra time to get to and from CHS, as traffic congestion, particularly along Plummer, may occur, said Superintendent of Schools Kellen Adams.

City Manager Jeff Cantrell expressed his appreciation for every one making adjustments due to this temporary inconvenience.

Chanute High School

Current Weather

Current Condition: clear sky

Temperature: 61.27˚F

Feels Like: 58.33˚F

Wind Speeds: 8.95mph

Weather humidity: 85%

Chance of Precipitation: %

Administrators

Interim Principal

Mr. Matt Koester

koesterm@usd413.org

Asst. Principal

Mr. Tyler Applegate 

applegatet@usd413.org

Asst. Principal/Athletic Director

Mr. Zack Murry

murryz@usd413.org

Office

Office Hours

7:00am to 4pm

Doors open to students at 7:15am

Secretaries

Karen Graham

grahamk@usd413.org

Linda Uden

udenl@usd413.org

Melisa Aikins

aikinsm@usd413.org

Counselor Registrar

Mindi Masoner

masonerm@usd413.org

Report Student Absences

Before School Starts

Email or Text

chsattn@usd413.org

Contact Information

Chanute High School
1501 W 36th St
Chanute, Kansas 66720
Phone: 620.432.2510