Skip to main content
DistrictCampusDirectory
CAMPUS

CHS debaters stand out at Novice Tournament


Posted Date: 11/07/2019

Thumbnail Image for Article 42202

Three out of the four novice debate teams from CHS that competed at Cherryvale’s Novice Tournament Nov. 6 made their presence known by coming home with medals for three of the top five places.

novice team takes thirdFinishing in first was Cadence Reed and Brayden Oliver, with a 3-0 record at the tournament. Team members Ethan West and Nathan Matlock took third with a 3-0 record. Cavin Cation and Jacob Adams took fifth with a 2-1 record.

The fourth team, Kenzi Boyd and Jalen Riggs, didn’t place, “but they fought hard,” said Coach Chase Reed.

This year’s debate topic for students is arms sales. The resolution states:

"Resolved: The United States federal government shouldnovice team takes fifth substantially reduce Direct Commercial Sales and Foreign Military Sales of arms from the United States."

The affirmative team will argue that the U.S. should substantially reduce arms sales to other countries, and the negative team will argue to maintain the arms sales to other countries.

CHS Campus Calendar

This Week's Events

Current Weather

clear

Temperature: 20˚F

Current Condition: Clear

Wind Speeds: 0.52mph

Chance of Precipitation: 0%

5-day Outlook

Wednesday:
windy
Temperature: 49/30
Windy in the morning.
Thursday:
partly-cloudy
Temperature: 46/22
Partly cloudy throughout the day.
Friday:
partly-cloudy
Temperature: 52/28
Partly cloudy throughout the day.
Saturday:
clear
Temperature: 56/42
Clear throughout the day.
Sunday:
partly-cloudy
Temperature: 56/36
Mostly cloudy throughout the day.

Administrators

Principal

Mr. Brian Campbell

campbellb@usd413.org

Asst. Principal

Mr. Tyler Applegate 

applegatet@usd413.org

Asst. Principal/Athletic Director

Mr. Zack Murry

murryz@usd413.org

Office

Office Hours

7:30am to 4pm

Secretaries

Karen Graham

grahamk@usd413.org

Linda Uden

udenl@usd413.org

Counselor Registrar

Mindi Masoner

masonerm@usd413.org

Report Student Absences

Before School Starts

Email or Text

chsattn@usd413.org

Contact Information

Chanute High School
1501 W 36th St
Chanute, Kansas 66720
Phone: 620.432.2510